Heal (Five Minute Friday)

Today I am joining the Five Minute Friday community where we write for five minutes flat on a one-word prompt. No editing, no holding back. Today’s word: Heal. Nothing fancy over here this week (not even a picture!), I am just trying to get back in the rhythm of writing and hitting the “Publish” button again! Thanks for stopping by.

: : : : : :

I have this tiny cut on my hand. It’s no big deal, and there are no gory details to share. It’s just there. The thing is, it’s been there for a while now and I’ve only just recently noticed how it seems like it’s been here for a disproportionate amount of time for the size of the wound. It hasn’t healed.  Because I either ignore it all together, or it irritates me so I pick, pick, pick at it. Only today did it occur to me that maybe I should pause and pay it a little mind, give it what it needs to heal (we’re talking 30 seconds of first aid care), instead of just picking or ignoring it.

I realize this isn’t unlike some relationships I have. There’s hurt, maybe just small, but it’s there. Instead of paying it a little mind and figuring out what kind of tender care it needs to heal, I just pick, pick, pick…or ignore. See, it’s taken me less than 5 minutes to jot this down, but sometimes it’s the simple things that escape us, right? Sometimes if we just take a moment to pause we can figure out that the solution may not be big or complicated and that healing is possible. Sometimes our busyness alone is the obstacle that we have to overcome to begin healing. Sometimes.

